The Molecular Graphics Laboratory Forum

AutoDock, AutoLigand, MGLTools, Vina, PyRx and more.
It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:43 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 4:35 pm 
Millimolar User
Millimolar User

I'm using ePMV in Cinema4D and have been working ePMV for a few weeks (I'm an animator, not a scientist). I've had great results displaying several complex molecules that my pharmaceutical client has provided, especially with proteins in Ribbon format. I have one molecule that includes a protein which will not display in Ribbon format, though it will display in sphere (atoms), ball & stick, and MSMSurface modes without a problem.

I've gone through all the tutorials I could find, and have a basic understanding of how to select the various molecular components. I can select the portion of the molecule I want to effect (the protein component), but still cannot get it to display as a Ribbon, though my client assures me it is a protein and should display in Ribbon form (and has shown me other renderings, I'm not sure where from, where it appears as a Ribbon).

Is it possible that there are settings that I could adjust that would cause the Ribbon to appear or not appear? I realize this is a vague description, but as the molecule is proprietary, I unfortunately can't include renderings or the pdb file itself.

I appreciate any help or suggestions that anyone can offer.

Thanks.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 5:48 am 
Picomolar User
Picomolar User

Hi,

thanks you for your interest.
without the actual pdb file it is difficult to tell. Is there any secondary structure information inside the PDB file ?
if it is not the case, there is some chance that your pdb file is not "regular" and so it make difficult the assignation/prediction of the secondary structure.
you may need to go through some other software to clean / check the file.
try to open it in pymol, vmd, chimera and then resave it from there. It may help.

another option is to :