The Molecular Graphics Laboratory Forum

AutoDock, AutoLigand, MGLTools, Vina, PyRx and more.
It is currently Mon Jan 22, 2018 12:43 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 9:44 pm 
Millimolar User
Millimolar User

I have been using Autodock Vina for several months now, but I recently came across a youtube tutorial that adds polar hydrogens to the ligand on the step right after saving the pdbqt file of the protein, through AutoDock-tools.

Here's a link to the tutorial video, and I am referring to the (2:30 - 3:10) mark.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LlPSQBDNFr8

I have never added polar hydrogens in this manner to my ligands. Is this a necessary step? Or is it only necessary for his tutorial since the ligand he is using is one he obtained from the pdb.org pdb-file, which is in turn, obtained from experimental crystallographic data - and therefore does not contain hydrogens?

Since I draw most of my ligands using Avogadro, and the drawn molecules do contain hydrogens when I save them as pdb files, does that make the step I am referring to in the tutorial unnecessary?

Thank you all for any clarifications,

-Saul

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2014 4:33 pm 
Picomolar User
Picomolar User

AutoDock4 uses the United Atom model. This means only polar hydrogens are included in the coordinates file. However for correct partial charges, first add all hydrogens to the ligand to make sure the valencies of the heavy atoms are satisfied. When the ligand is written to a pdbqt file, the charge on each non-polar hydrogen is added to the charge of the heavy atom to which it is bonded and the non-polar hydrogen atom itself is removed from the molecule.

Adding only polar hydrogens to a molecule is ok for AutoDock Vina which uses the hydrogens only for setting atom types but wrong for AutoDock4

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2014 10:51 pm 
Millimolar User
Millimolar User

thank you for the response.